‘Fun’ A Muck Adventure Obstacle Race!

So, if the title doesn’t make it obvious, I had FUN on the Run A Muck race on Sunday.

Truth be told, I was seriously considering not running.

I mean, we’re talking about a 3+ hour drive, on Sunday morning, leaving at 5:00am (ish),ย and then doing this run alone, and then driving back home again.

And though I had seen the posts on facebook that made sure I had an idea of what to expect, let’s face it, that almost made it more intimidating!

But I don’t often enough step out of my comfort zone, and Mat was willing to drive all the way up and all the way back and be my supporter, and really, after the generous donations I received, I simply could not (nay, WOULD NOT) back out!

I started writing about everything that happened, my thoughts and impressions, and I decided that it was too long for a single post, so rather than hear me blather on,ย how about some pictures of the actual event? ๐Ÿ™‚

100_0140

Pre-event clean

100_0141

Most pathetic show of guns ever!

100_0142

100_0143

Wow! Nervous much?
Not the guy behind me! Check out his guns! ๐Ÿ˜›

100_0144

First obstacle! Over round bales, onto the sea container, over top!
Set the bar HIGH for how tough these obstacles were going to be!

100_0145

Waiting in line at the wall-rope climb. They have fun names, but I forget them. ๐Ÿ™‚

100_0146

Starting to get muddy!

100_0147

Running past unconcerned ponies.

100_0148

Check out that weather coming! Eep!

100_0149

The “W” obstacle. They had a guys side (no helping steps) and a girls side. I took the girl’s side. I wouldn’t be able to do three full body weight pull ups in a row!

100_0150

More W

100_0151

Tricksy!

100_0152

Thta’s the line up caused by the W obstacle. If they do this again, they need to make that one wider to accommodate more people. Serious back-log!

100_0155

The dreaded Rope Net. Not so bad, if you follow the instructions.
Someone at the bottom said “She must have done this before” after watching me come down!

100_0156

Bouldering wall

100_0157

Funny balls. The volunteers pushed them at you as your ran through so you’d get knocked into the mud!

100_0158

Balance beam!

100_0159

I took the easy one, and was told to go back and do it again ๐Ÿ˜›

100_0161

First water crossing!
BRR!!

100_0162

Now we’re really talking MUDDY!
People were stuck!
Shoes were lost!
Mud was slung!
Oh the fun and games had here!

100_0163

Did he give up? ๐Ÿ™‚

100_0164

Schloppy!

100_0166

CAKED with MUD!

100_0167

This is AFTER I cleaned up a little….

100_0168

This is where I hurt my knee…

IMAG0040

Done!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

100_0169

Finished!! They kinda clean you off a little with the bubbles ๐Ÿ™‚

IMAG0041

Happy Foamy Feet!

IMAG0044

Yeah, not flattering!
But even after the last swim obstacle, I’m still dragging ton of mud on me.
I didn’t face plant into the mud, happily, but spent a lot of time on my ass in it! ๐Ÿ˜›

100_0171

That soap does not seem to have done the trick!

IMAG0043

My Run A Muck dog tags.
Proud as punch to wear them!

It was a seriously good time!!

8 responses to “‘Fun’ A Muck Adventure Obstacle Race!

  1. I Love the idea of the foam at the end! We waited sooooooo long to get washed off after the spartan race, like literally, mud had dried and caked on long before we got to the hoses!!!
    Those mud puddles look pretty intense! I wonder how many shoes were lost!

  2. Pingback: X-Rated Run Coming To Florida? | Sykose Extreme Sports News·

  3. Pingback: New Toys for Training Motivation | Chasing the Blackwood Marathon·

  4. Pingback: Farewell Summer | Chasing the Blackwood Marathon·

  5. Pingback: On My Knees | Chasing the Blackwood Marathon·

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

