Early to Bed, Early to Rise

Since coming home from holidays, there have been a few big changes.

Obviously, the biggest change is my job, which has been going swimmingly, but more about that another time.

But a big positive change that I have made with great conscious effort is that I have been waking up REALLY early and exercising in the morning.

wake-up-happy-560

We all have heard that it’s a good idea to get up early and work out.

It’s pretty standard advice: Do it because then your exercise is done for the day and you don’t have to fight with your evenings getting filled up, and choosing to skip your workout because things just get too complicated!

AM-Exercise

And it’s good advice.

But I have always struggled with rolling out of bed and training. It’s just ICKY to go from COMPLETE REST to COMPLETE EFFORT.

Seriously, that can’t be good for you.

I remember doing early morning swim training and thinking I was going to drown. I just don’t have the neuro-muscular control first thing in the morning.

I read post after post about just doing it and eventually you will become a morning person, a morning exerciser, but it never really worked for me. I don’t mind waking up early. But I like to go slow, to take my time to wake up, to potter around. I feel really calm and domestic at this time. Exercising is tough!

So, I have decided to change tact on that ‘get up and exercise’ advice just slightly:

I am getting up an hour before I exercise.

So, I’m getting up at 5am so I can train at 6am so I can shower at 7am and go to work for 8am.

Tricky, right?

I’ve been going to bed at about 9pm, so I can get 8 hours of sleep, and when my alarm goes off at 5, sometimes I just lie there for a few minutes, but then I roll out of bed and I spend a hour over a cup of tea, reading blogs, and just whatever.

Then my alarm goes off again and reminds me to exercise. Most of my workouts have been around the 30 minute mark, and I’ve been doing a lot of Tabatas and other body weight exercises, and it feels really good!

I did sleep in one morning until 6, and I haven’t exercised every day, but almost all of them.

And I have really really been feeling good about it.

I feel relaxed and get to be all awake, get a workout in, have more than enough time to get ready for work and I have these wonderful wee hours to myself. It’s pretty much the best part of my day.

What about you? How do you feel about early morning training sessions? Early mornings in general? How do you make sure you get your workout in?

4 responses to “Early to Bed, Early to Rise

  1. I can’t wake up early for the life of me, I’m a sleep in as much as possible kinda girl. The only way I’ll get my workouts in is if I make plans with a friend, I need to know someone else is counting on me otherwise I just won’t go.

    • Having a friend who is counting on you is such a good way to stay committed to getting up early. I’d probably do much better workouts if I had a training buddy locally.
      Guess I’m just going to have to move back to Edmonton so I can train with you 😉

  2. Pingback: What’s for dinner? Meal planning for dummies | Chasing the Blackwood Marathon·

  3. Pingback: A Few Updates – My Week, The House, The Dishes, and Thanksgiving | Chasing the Blackwood Marathon·

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

