I made this!

Last night I put together the Overnight Banana Stuffed French Toast from Crazy for Crust.

Although it’s a far cry from the original:

Banana Breakfast

it was still delicious!

Sadly, my new big shiny oven is not yet installed.

wpid-wp-1373768250245.jpg

So the little 1950s countertop oven that I have been using was put to the test again.

1950s Vulcan Oven

Our 1950s Vulcan Oven

It kinda failed.

image

But all was not lost!

There was sauce to make, and sauce can fix any number of sins!

image

Bananas and maple syrup, heated and blended…

image

And poured over two generous bowls of this nummy goodness!

image

Not too shabby!

Next time I will use less bread: I used 3/4 of a loaf of my homemade rye and I think it was just a bit too dense. Though the egg and banana and cream cheese mixture was lovely, I felt it was a little lost in a sea of bread.

Did I just say there was too much bread!? What is wrong with me!? 😛

Dorothy, over at Crazy for Crust, made this for an Easter morning breakfast. Make ahead the night before, pop in oven, whip up sauce, and enjoy time with family without spending much time in the kitchen at all. The sauce takes all of 5 minutes to prepare, and it can be done right when you pull the tray out of the oven.

I like the idea of preparing ahead, especially for a family event, and it certainly is a large batch! Enough to feed 6-8 people I reckon. So Mat and I are going to have leftovers for a few days!

Can’t wait to try this (and many other baking delights) in my new oven! But looks like that will end up having to wait until after we get back. It is so hard to line up a tradesperson, and with only a week to go, it’s incredibly unlikely to get done before we leave.

We’ll see 🙂

Anyway, hope you’re having a delightful weekend! Have you whipped up any baking or treats yourself?

2 responses to “I made this!

    • The results were still really good, despite my poor little oven. This tastes great and that sauce will be a staple in my house! How good would it be on pancakes?
      NOM!! 🙂
      Thanks for the recipe and coming to visit my blog!!

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

