Where to Begin?

I’ve often heard it’s best to start at the beginning, but really, life’s not always like that. Sometimes there is no clear beginning, middle and end of a story.

start

So, I’ve been pretty flat-out at work. Thankfully, the initial frenzy of budget submissions are over, but we just started the new winter term and that always means a lot of new things happening and adjustments and small fires to put out.

And, since I’ve quit my job and am preparing to hand over to someone at some point in the near future, I’ve been plugging through my list of ‘things I really wanted to get done but never seem to have time for.’ This has been going surprisingly well.

I’ve started to set a SINGLE goal for the day. At the end of each day I go through my brain dump and pick one thing to accomplish the next day. If I get nothing else done on my list, if I get totally distracted in all other things, at least this ONE thing will be tackled first and foremost. It’s been working surprisingly well.

Wondering what a brain dump is?

Last weekend I unloaded all the thoughts that have been plaguing me onto paper, regardless of their size or importance, so I could just not have them rattling around in my head anymore. Didn’t matter if it seemed insignificant. If it was in my head I was getting it out. The relief of not having to juggle those thoughts anymore was nearly instantaneous.

So. Much. Better.

Beyond that, there’s also the weird stress and denial that are associated with quitting my job. It’s like breaking up with someone and not quite being able to let go. Hey, this has been my life for 8 years, I’ve got some attachment issues. 🙂 Parts of my brain are still future planning for the place, while other parts of me, are of course, trying to handle the reality of finding a new job and moving on.

I do feel conflicted. But I suppose that’s what’s going to happen.

I’ve also started the countdown for my trip to Canada.

65 more sleeps!!

It’s going to be upon me before I know it!

Can’t wait to see my family and my country again. Wish I was rich and could afford to do 6 months in Oz and 6 months in Canada. Eternal summer!!

I haven’t been running, which is sad, but I want to start again now that things have mellowed out. I’ve signed up for an obstacle race in September, something to look forward to when I get back home. In the meantime, I want to get back up to the 5k mark so I can run one or two easy races in Canada, just for something different and so I have something to keep working towards while I’m there.

Otherwise, I’ll just eat myself into fat-pants like I did last time I was there. 😀

Classes have been going good, though I have found that the change to wintry weather has slowed me down a little. Plus I’m tired from longs days at work, I’ve just been putting in such long days (why is this happening again?), and sometimes it’s not easy to talk myself into doing the classes I love.

Sometimes knowing that you’ll feel amazing later just isn’t enough to override the need to just sit and close your eyes right now.

But, that’s where I’m at, so you can see why there aren’t many posts these days (heck, I even missed a Top Tuesday (maybe two?)). But when things get topsy turvy like this, I need to let some things slide for awhile (like dishes, blogging, vacuuming) and focus on the critical stuff (working, eating, sleeping) until I can rein things in and get back under control. That’s where I’m at now – regaining control.

I expect you’ll hear a lot more from me in the near future 🙂

3 responses to “Where to Begin?

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

