Boston

I have followed Running Sunflower’s blog for some time, and was excited for her chance to run the Boston Marathon. And when I saw the news, I was really upset because not only was it horrifying and terrifying, but I *knew* someone who was there!!
With that in mind, her positive and thoughtful post, I felt, required some sharing.
Beautiful message.
Thank you!

Running Sunflower

The story of the 2013 Boston Marathon deserves to have more than just its tragic ending told.

I’ll get to that ending, but first, I want to give the race’s positive aspects – and there were many – their due.

My parents and I arrived in Boston on Saturday. Our hotel, the Hyatt Regency, stood within walking distance of everything we needed – beautiful! That evening, we ate at the Union Oyster House, the oldest continuously-operating restaurant in the nation. I gazed longingly at the shellfish being consumed all around me, but played it safe with broiled scrod. Still delicious.

On Sunday, we went to mass (not the “marathoner’s mass,” but a good one nonetheless, with the priest reminding us that we are capable of much more than we think) and then ventured to the pre-race expo. Whoa. I’d forgotten what really big expos are like. We wandered around…

View original post 794 more words

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

