The Great Dish Experiment

I make no secret of the fact that I dislike doing dishes.

So, to share the load, Mat and I had an agreement: we would take turns doing dishes.

This gentleman’s agreement had the basic principle that if it is your turn, then you can do them whenever you feel like. So, the longer you wait, the more dishes there are to do.

This was working alright, except that some turns were taking a really long time to get done.

And, as a result, I did Mat’s turn like 4 turns in a row.

But after the long weekend, I left the dishes on Monday night for Mat – he hadn’t worked that day, and there weren’t too many.

But he didn’t do them.

Not on Tuesday either, or Wednesday, or Thursday either!

And it started to look like this:

20130405-203527.jpgAnd it was spreading out all over the kitchen.

20130405-203616.jpg

And the ants and flies were loving it.

And there were still this many clean dishes available in the cupboard:

20130405-204025.jpg

I was done waiting. And I was sick of the piles of dishes building up.

So I devised a plan…

You see, Mat and I don’t really entertain. We don’t have guests, there’s only two of us. There is no good reason I can think of that we need 25 plates, 16 bowls, 200 knives (I’m starting to exaggerate, but you get the point) when really only one of each will do.

After doing three sink fulls of dishes, I went and picked up boxes to pack away the unnecessary cutlery and crockery.

20130405-203932.jpg

And this is all that’s left.

One mug each, one glass each, one large plate each, one small plate each, one bowl each, and one fork, knife and spoon each.

20130405-204113.jpg

Look at all the space I have left over!

20130405-204217.jpg

And I have 5 boxes full of unnecessary stuff!

Seriously, who needs that many mugs?

20130405-204301.jpg

So, I set all these boxes off in the spare room, so if we do have people over, I can still serve them. But in the meantime, I will only have 2 of any type of dish to wash.

If you want a sandwich and your knife is dirty, you’ll have to wash it. It’s as simple as that.

When Mat came home he was a little surprised, but didn’t really flinch.

Clearly he dislikes doing dishes as much as I do. ๐Ÿ™‚

Or he’s accustomed to my impulsive flashes of genius! ๐Ÿ™‚

So this is the plan, this is The Great Dish Experiment! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 responses to “The Great Dish Experiment

  1. Pingback: A Few Updates – My Week, The House, The Dishes, and Thanksgiving | Chasing the Blackwood Marathon·

  2. Pingback: Yes, Progress is Slow | Rusty Red Roof·

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

