Solo Sail

Okay, it was a kayak, not a sail boat, but I love alliteration, and “Solo Kayak” just doesn’t have the same ring to it.

On Sunday E and I were going to go out to Lake Ewly at 3pm for a paddle.

It was a gorgeous day. The kind of day poets write about.

100_0019

It was lovely. And it was 3pm and I was at the Lake, but E was not there yet. So I decided to just do a few little circles close to the landing point.

And then I decided to go a little farther, and come back again, and then I decided she must have had something come up and I clicked my Garmin on and headed off for a longer run, deciding it can’t take too long to get back when she does make it here…

So I did a quick solo run.Selection_027

It was so nice… and despite stopping for a few pictures along the way, I was fairly hoofin’ it along!

Selection_028 Selection_029

When I did see her arrive, and I made a nice dash for the landing point, I found it surprisingly challenging. It was probably only 500 metres, but after being pretty leisurely most of the time we go out, this was a pretty serious paddling effort. And the proof is in my speeds below: Selection_031

See that last 550 metres were pretty quick 🙂

I haven’t been out kayaking on my own yet, and it was nice, but I think it’s far more fun with friends.

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

