Thoughts on Self-Discipline

I said at the start of the year that I was going to ‘live with great discipline’

My objective was to just do the things I need to do to accomplish my goals.

Just run. Just ride. Just paddle. Just bike. Just swim.

For that matter, just get the dishes done, wash the car, and stop sitting around wasting time in front of a screen.

And I haven’t been as good at this as I would have hoped.

I don’t suck completely at it, but it’s not easy (if it were easy, everyone would be doing it)

discipline5

I know Arnie! I’m sorry!

Have you seen this TED Talk? Don’t Eat the Marshamallow … Yet.

It’s terribly cute, but I have to ask myself, “Would I have eaten the marshmallow?”

Quite possibly…

Just as likely, I would have tried eating the inside of the marshmallow… but that might a whole other topic 🙂

So, what’s the big deal about being self-disciplined anyway?

Here’s a few good quotes on the topic…discipline

discipline2

Hey, I can defer gratification like nobody’s business. One look at the state of my home renovations will prove that I have the patience of a saint!

discipline4

But this bad-boy here… this quote is the clincher for me….

Because I want to run a marathon, and because I want to do the Blackwood, I also want to want to train.

Does that make sense at all?

Because the goal is “a choice of desire”, I’d also like each of my training sessions to be ‘easy’ in that they are also a choice of desire. I just want to want to desire, or long, or ache to go out for a run or a ride or whatever it is I need to do.

But oh so often, I really don’t feel like it.

All of our excuses in the world (it’s too hot, too cold, too tired, too whatever..) boil down to this one basic sentiment:

I just don’t want to.

And how do you argue with that?

With discipline.

You just get out the whip and give yourself a good old fashioned smack and say:go for a run

Hmmm… I think I have something I better go do…

3 responses to “Thoughts on Self-Discipline

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

