An Unusual Start

This morning I woke up at 6am without an alarm, but continued to lie in bed while my old internal dialogue worked overtime debating the merits of getting up for a run or staying in bed for another hour.

The fit-me finally won and dragged my lazy-me’s butt out of bed.

And mere moments later there was an anxious knocking on the door.

Now, I’m always surprised – and more than a little suspicious – when anyone knocks on my door. People really don’t come to my house.

And at 6:10am, it seemed a bit further out of place than normal, but I thought that someone had probably lost their dog or something like that, so I went to the door and a little old lady who was out for her morning walk said that one of my horses had caught his leg in the fence and she tried to help him get it out, but couldn’t.

“Bloody Nero,” I said.

So I got dressed in my running gear and grabbed some pliers and headed off to free the pony.

As it turns out, no ponies were stuck in the fence, and checking all 8 legs revealed no new injuries.

Then they followed me around asking for carrots.

By the time that was done it was already 6:30am, so I decided I would cut the run a little shorter than planned, but knew that I couldn’t skip it completely because Little Miss has been a ballistic fireball of energy thanks to the fact that I haven’t taken her for a run for two whole days.

So a quickie around the racetrack… well, it wasn’t actually all that quick, as a matter of fact.

I was feeling very low energy, and walked the first bend and jogged the rest. I didn’t take the time to put on my Garmin, so I don’t know how fast I was going, but I am pretty sure the satellite would have recorded the speed as “Sluggish at Best.”

Ugh!

Nice morning for a walk, but my legs were not happy about running today.

Better than nothing, I suppose, but not ideal.

I have noticed that my legs have been really sore lately. And really, all I’ve been doing is Vive and Balance and the occasional easy run. Don’t know why they would be so tired.

Anyway, other than that it was a fairly typical Friday at work, and will be a quiet Friday night to rest up for a big weekend of kayaking Saturday morning and horse riding on Sunday morning, and cleaning and hiding inside with air conditioning in the afternoons avoiding the 38plus degree heat that is predicted for the weekend.

keeping cool

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

