Not according to plan

Okay, so you might be wondering how the Australia Day fun run went.

Unfortunately it didn’t.

:/

Last night we arrived at the in laws with the plan to get up early in the morning 430am (ouch!) and be on the road by 515 to get to Bunbury for 7am to register. Run 730am. Done and dusted by 8.

But what actually happened was I had a freakishly painful allergic reaction to probably just dust. My throat closed up and I felt like I was going to cough up a lung.

It was extremely painful.

My chest was tight and wheezy and there was a burning sensation from my sternum to my sinuses.

I finally took a cold and flu tablet in hopes that the decongestant drugs would clear me up or calm the reaction down.

I finally did stop coughing, but it was really late, and it was a terrible night. After getting up a few times, and not really sleeping, I decided at about 2am that I was not going to get up at 430 to run.

I got up around 830, and despite missing out on the run, which I had really been looking forward to, I was happy with the decision. There was no way that I was going to be able to run 5km even later in the day, so it certainly wasn’t going to happen at 730am.

Not the plan I had in mind.

But all was not lost.

Mat and I went shopping in Busselton (where I bought some allergy medicine) and then to Chapman Pool in the afternoon to hang out with some friends and paddle down the Blackwood.

We went about 6km in a hour. It was leisurely but I was surprised at how stiff my back and shoulders were -presumably from Thursdays paddle. This was the first time I’ve done two paddles within a few days of another.

Anyway…

Off to bed, looking forward to a BIG sleep tonight and no allergies!

Hoping to feel good enough to run 5km tomorrow.

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

