Reflecting on the Year That Was

life-reflection

It’s that time of year again, time to reflect upon the year that has come and gone. And hasn’t it come and gone all too quickly?

I was actually having trouble thinking back to what happened and what I accomplished. Luckily, I have a blog and it helped jog my memory a bit.

Most recently, of course, were the Christmas celebrations, which were really lovely this year. I think we saw nearly everyone. Mat and I played host to Christmas breakfast on the 29th here at our place, which was nice.

Bunbury Run

I also got quite excited about my running again and signed up for a run in January 2013.

 

bike

I got back on my bike, and although I haven’t been for many rides, I am going to ride more regularly, even if only once a week for now.

 

Blue Haven. Well deserving of its name.

Blue Haven. Well deserving of its name.

My cousin, Mat and I went for a four day weekend to the south coast and spent time in Esperance in November. It was awesome.

 

Thank you Gypsy Magic Wand!

In late October I bought the Magic Gypsy Wand and directly attribute it to getting my feet back in order and starting to be able to really run again.

 

wpid-IMAG0572.jpg

I also got featured in a book about the Blackwood Marathon Ironman competition and was re-inspired to do the Marathon again.

 

I'm never too tired to have my photo taken...

I’m never too tired to have my photo taken…

Little Miss came into our lives, thanks to the Ranger. She’s an adorable little nuisance 🙂

 

untitled

I  trained in Body Vive and really love teaching it. It’s brought a great new feel to the classes we offer at our Centre. It is the missing link in bringing new exercisers to a place with no fear of judgement.

 

SAM_8148

I bought a treadmill and even use it sometimes. I have never hung anything off it. 🙂 That is just for you, Amber 🙂

 

SAM_8120

Mat and I climbed Bluff Knoll with friends, knocking one thing off my bucket list.

 

TK 2

I rode my horse again!

 

Garmin Me

I got a Garmin GPS watch and I love it, I use it all the time, even a year later!

 

wpid-IMAG0060.jpg

I completed my Cert IV in Personal Training at the start of the year. I was really really proud of this and it was a great way to start the year.

.

What else?

I am sure there are many things, little ones, things that slip your mind… things I don’t have in pictures or that I didn’t blog.

The deck got done, and we bought an awesome new ute so we can camp and travel more comfortably. And slowly but surely, we are moving forward on home renos.

I feel like I found my feet in the managers role this year, even if I still falter or have doubts. I felt much calmer about all the events, have great confidence in my staff, and feel like we’re making headway in a bunch of projects.

I did spend a lot of the year feeling down, blue, scared, uncertain, which isn’t really how I’d like to reflect back on how the year felt. There were, afterall, some pretty amazing things going on. Even now, at the end of the year, looking back on all the good things, they seem so far away and far apart.

So, at the suggestion of a friend’s Pinterest board, I have started a “Good Things 2013” jar where I will be able to pop in a little note about something good that happened each day. At the end of the year, I can pull them all out and reflect on all the Good Things that happened in 2013. A little happy reflection and practice in gratitude all in one 🙂 Love it!!

I hope your 2012 reflects back a happy and bright image to you and that you have a wonderful year ahead to look forward to.

However you choose to spend it, I hope you have the happiest of New Years 🙂

happy new year

3 responses to “Reflecting on the Year That Was

    • Marylou,
      Thanks again for your kind comment and for visiting my site. I am hoping for new beginnings, even if only in mindset! 🙂
      Hope you had a wonderful new year 🙂

  1. Pingback: Good Things 2013 – the best of this past year | Chasing the Blackwood Marathon·

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

