One of the worst things to come out of my oven

image

Low-fat, low-carb, low-taste!?

This is meant to be a ‘Yummy Protein Slice’

I got this recipe from Susie Burrell‘s monthly newsletter.

I like Susie Burrell. She’s a dietician and psychologist.I have attended lectures by her, I have even met her. I read her newsletters from start to finish. She’s on TV routinely, heck, she’s practically famous, and she’s really good at her job. I really respect her knowledge.

But this recipe sucks.

It is terribly tasteless.

I want to smother it in icing, or peanut butter or Nutella just to give it some flavour.

Pretty sure that would completely defeat the point of the low-fat low-carb slice.

Damn, that’s two for two bad turn outs on my last baking efforts. And I don’t think I can blame my oven for this failing either – the texture is fine, and it’s not burnt on the bottom and raw in the middle, as can sometimes happen with this oven.

I have tried a few recipes from Suzie and they usually turn out pretty good. Her low-fat chocolate mini-muffins are awesome!!

But unfortunately, this recipe is just really really bland.

I usually enjoy baking and it usually comes out good, so I must say, this is rather disappointing. I have been looking for some sort of slice to replace the commercially produced muesli bars and snacks.

Clearly, this is not it.

On the plus side, I’m not going to over-eat this one!

🙂

Have you had any big hits or misses in the kitchen lately? Have you got a good recipe for a slice or bar that isn’t loaded with sugar but still tastes good? I’d love to know all about it 🙂

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

