I Want To Do It Again

Maybe it’s the lovely weather and longer days.

Maybe it’s the sunshine.

Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve been mentioned in a  book, which led me to revisit some of my old posts.

Maybe it’s just because it’s that time of year again and I can’t help but think that I was only taking 2011 off and was definitely going to do it again in 2012.

But whatever it is, I’ve been inspired to do the Blackwood Marathon again.

I certainly won’t be doing it this year, as the Blackwood is a mere two weeks away. Or less even! And for someone who doesn’t do such things on a regular basis it requires at least 6 months intense training.

And with this stupid Plantar Fasciitis giving me grief, I certainly am in no shape to run 12km and then do a whole bunch of other stuff and still expect to walk again.

Ever.

But there’s certainly no reason I can’t get back in the saddle!

This re-visiting of old posts and reflecting on the Blackwood  has caused enough of a stirring in my wee mind that I hopped directly onto the treadmill – barefoot – and started walking… and typing!

Oh, and there’s still that Rottnest Island Marathon to complete.

But first, I need to take care of a few things:

  • Get rid of the PF, get back into running.
  • Ride my horse.
  • Find some water and paddle. (Maybe buy a kayak for a start?)
  • Join the Masters Swim Program when the pool reopens for summer and get swimming!
  • And get back on that bike.

Easy, right?

Why are you laughing 😛

In order to do it again, I would have to start with my focus on two priorities:

  • Sort out my foot problems.  That’s  got to be my first big step in my own fitness to do it or any serious event like this again.
  • Start working with TK now, and develop the control in busy situations and avoid the vet-out due to his inexperience in the vetting arena.

I already plan to swim with the Masters Program this summer. In fact, I bugged Frank, the kids swim club coach, until he agreed to run it at all! And the pool opens in three weeks if all goes according to plan.

If I get my dog fence installed sooner rather than later, I can start riding my bike to work instead of having to drive the dogs to a sitters house as well. It’s not much or a ride, only 2ks each way, but it’s a huge amount more than I have been doing. I can’t remember the last time I rode my bike.

Of all the disciplines, cycling is my least favourite.

Oh dear, it’s time to stop dreaming and get ready to teach Balance.

I’m sure you’ll be hearing more about this in the near future! 🙂

(Treadmill – 36 minutes)

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

