Saturday 13 Oct – Road Snacks and Jonesing for Bread

I ate like a pig today.

Swear to God, it was horrifying. No wonder I don’t have six-pack abs! Check out this ridiculous display of gluttony.

image

Scrambled Egg Breakfast – Full of Goodness!

Good start again.

See, but, then we headed to Albany for a bit of a trip to pick up some benches for work, go car shopping and look at the salvage yard. We were also hoping to catch up with friends.

(In the end it was up and back, no shopping or visiting…)

Now, it’s a bad habit, but I like to eat while travelling.

Eat or sleep in the car = happy me!

I have gotten better about my road trip snack choices. M&M MixUps used to be compulsory road trip fodder.

Now I try things like nuts and these little sesame snaps, which are sweet enough without being too moreish or big/bulky snacks.

image

Travel Snack. These were awful and did not get eaten. Bleh.

But what isn’t shown here is the very big toasted sandwich I had – Egg, Sausage and Cheese on a big sour dough bun. Gosh it was good, but probably my daily caloric intake in a single hand-held meal.

We had it in the truck on the way to Albany for what the Hobbits might call “Second Breakfast”.

Yeah. And I ate the snacks, too. On the way back mind you. It is 1.5 hours each way.

image

Late Lunch – two boiled eggs (I was so hungry I ate the first one without thinking!!)

I did a couple hours of Vive training (launch on Tuesday!!) when we got back and by the time 2pm rolled around I was getting pretty hungry. There was no bread in the house, and mid-afternoon I was starting to get a bit frantic for food.

Really, after all that eating in the morning? How could this be?

Fact is, I was jones-ing for bread and the delightful sugar hit that comes with it. So, I ate my eggs and waited for the bread to bake.

And when it came out I had four pieces of bread between about 4pm and midnight.

image

Fresh hot baked bread with butter and honey.
Times FOUR!
*shame*

I have been trying to limit myself to two slices of bread a day, because I know I can totally go overboard. And not just with the bread, but with the toppings on top.

But I really lost the plot today and went on a binge!

It’s totally like an alcoholic trying to reform! It’s HARD!!

Blast you carbs and sugar! Why do you make me so weak!?

I suppose I can reassure myself that awareness is the first step….

image

Finally I make the Black Bean Soba Noodles.
I love Soba noodles! šŸ™‚

I had never cooked Soba Noodles before. Have you?

They are awesome.

Delightful.

Quick cooking, thin and nicely textured.

I found this dish nice, and super quick to prepare. Next time I will use half the noodles and twice the Asian greens (in this case I used Buk Choi).

Basic recipe:

  • Boil soba noodles according to packet directions
  • Fry off a whole bunch of spring onions, chopped on the diagonal with two garlic cloves, some grated ginger and a de-seeded diced green or red chilli.
  • Add a good amount of black bean sauce, 3 cups of vegetable stock, and a bit of soy sauce (only 1 or 2 tsp), and bring to the boil.
  • Add the chopped up Asian greens (try with two or three bunches) and cook just until wilted.
  • Add peanuts or cashews.
  • Serve over drained soba noodles

Took about 20 minutes or so, and made a huge pot. I will probably get 6 serves out of it.

You can also add chicken or tofu for a bit more protein if you want. Or beans perhaps. (Why are there no beans in this Black Bean Soba Noodle recipe, I wonder?)

Anyway, I am not so proud of my bread addiction, and my lack of control. That was pretty crazy.

Though I have heard that the addiction to sugar can be as powerful as a heroin addiction. This may or may not be true, but I tell you what, I really did feel like a junkie looking for a fix.

Has anyone else out there gone through this kind of withdrawal before? Did you get past it or just keep relapsing?

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

