I’m Really Not Good At..

You know, I’m pretty good at exercising.

I’m pretty good at keeping active and keeping track of what exercise I’ve done.

I’m pretty good at setting goals and getting there – even if it sometimes takes me longer than I hope.

But what I am really not good at is keeping track of what I eat.

I have used a few different apps, like My Fitness Pal, which has a great smart-phone bar-code reader and is really easy to use!

But I stopped using it.

I have used Slim Kicker, which is similar app for tracking food, but also awards points for logging food and giving bonus points for fruit and veg. And that’s fun!

Bonus points!!

But I stopped using it too.

I have logged using the old pen and paper method, in many different forms – as basic as check marks and as complex as time and feelings and satiety scores.

None last more than a few days.

But six-pack abs are made in the kitchen and not in the gym.

And I do NOT have six-pack abs.

Between my love of sweets, portion distortion, and emotional eating, I often eat too much of the foods that will not help me stay healthy. Plus, with a busy schedule and a less than versatile repertoire in the kitchen, I really don’t cook enough at home and therefore am not controlling what enters my body.

Being in control of what I eat is important to me, but I find it SO challenging to remain aware and responsible to myself for what I eat.

So, I am going to try another method.

(I reckon you need to keep trying new things – something’s going to stick eventually, right? Plus if you keep doing what you always did, you’ll always get what you always got.

But I digress…

Again…)

Anyway, my latest and greatest attempt at being more aware of what I eat is going to be to photograph what I eat.

None of my photos will look this good. Sorry.

It works for plenty of people, so it’s my turn to give it a go.

Expect a quick upload each evening with just a bunch of photos of what I ate. A little visual diary for me.

We’ll see how long this one lasts 🙂

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

