Creaks and Groans

I recently decided I should probably change the name of my blog to “Aches and Pains” or “Snap, Crackle, Pop” or “Getting Old Kinda Blows” …

All in jest of course.

But at the same time, most of what I want to discuss, what is of interest to me while exercising lately, is all the niggles and sore spots and odd “ooches” that weren’t there before. Not the ouches that come from sore, well-exercised muscles, but the ones that just pop up because things apparently just don’t work as well as they used to.

For example, at Pump, I can usually do lots of nice deep squats, but for a few weeks, my knee would make me positively yelp in pain and make me shoot straight back up! Several weeks of fiddling with position, muscle tension, depth, plus a few days off, and I’m not experiencing that niggle anymore.

No, now it’s something new.

My right elbow. It decided that it didn’t like bicep curls on Monday. No idea why, and I ended up getting past the pain by holding my hand in a weird position to change the way the muscle was targeted, and got through, but not very comfortably.

And of course, there’s good ol’ PF giving me grief! It has completely dashed my chances of coming anywhere close to running a half or full marathon in this year. Right now I can’t run for more than a few minute without feeling the sting. However, thanks to the treadmill and my barefoot walking and running, I am confident that I will get strong enough and I will be able to do it in 2013.

On the upside, I have been on an exercise streak, and though Juneathon was a terrible bust, July-August-athon might be more successful. So far I have done 15 workouts in 25 days, and the last 5 have been consecutive!

Okay, it’s not a brilliant streak, but it is an improvement!

I’ve been walking/jogging on the treadmill every night that I don’t do something else. I like it. It keeps me from feeling bored and lazy and keeps me warm on these cold winter nights!

Anyway, speaking of exercise, it’s time to get ready to head off to Pump and Balance.

I wonder what complaints my body will present tonight 😛

Hope you have a great day, and enjoy your next workout pain free!!

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

