Winter Solstice!

Winter Solstice!!

Last night was the longest night of the year in the southern hemisphere.

That means we gain 1-2 minutes of daylight every single day for the next 6 months.

This is a good thing.

For someone who struggles to keep sane and active and happy all winter, this is the sign that the end is near and ‘normal’ will return!

Cheers all around!!

Juneathon hasn’t been going so well for me. I can give all sorts of excuses, sure, but the fact is that I have low energy and I feel like I am fighting a losing battle. Juneathon should have been an inspiring challenge for me, kept me going during this dreary time of year, but I ran out of steam and I blame that, in no small part, on the diminishing daylight.

Isn’t it funny how those times when you need to take the best care of yourself – when you are stressed, tired, busy, run down – are the times when your diet, exercise and stress management go out the window?

Okay, it’s not funny, it’s unfortunate…

I have been doing Pump and Balance regularly, but nothing else, really. And I have been getting 2 fruit daily, but not enough veggies. I’ve been sleeping, but not getting enough rest. I’m not in terrible shape, but certainly not at the top of my game as far as taking care of myself goes.

Since I have been in a bit of a funk the last few weeks (though I must say that I have felt better this winter than the last few) I decided I needed a little help – a bit of a nudge. So I have once again signed up for Personal Training so that someone else can do the thinking and planning for me and all I have to do is show up and do the work.

Sometimes you just need a helpful reminder that you need to take care of yourself, and that’s what I’m paying for. Hopefully this helps pick up the number of workouts as we head out of the month of June, and give me a nice energy boost as well!

So, what else have we been up to?

We were away last weekend, so I didn’t ride my horse this week. But my boys have not been neglected – they both got shiny new rain jackets, and just in the nick of time! It has been stormy and wet and awful!! TK is such a baby when it comes to getting wet. So he and Nero now can keep dry!

In other news, we got a puppy! We ended up with a 2 month old Chihuahua-Jack Russell female pup from the pound. It wasn’t meant to happen, but we can’t help ourselves. She needed us, and she’s pretty entertaining!

Yeah, that’s pretty much my story for the last week.

Juneathon tally so far: 9 days of activity in 21 days of the month.

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

