I know what you’re thinking

You’re thinking, “This is turning into a horse blog! Where’s the fitness!?”

Hey, c’mon, this is a huge deal for me!

I haven’t ridden my horse in nearly 18 months!!

And today I rode him, just like I planned and he was quiet and stood like a statue for mounting just like Irwin taught him.

Seriously, I have no idea how Irwin taught him that so well, but I feel like it’s some kind of brilliant gift.

Anywho…

I only rode for about 20 minutes all up. We did a few walk-trots in the round yard. I felt really comfortable with that, so headed to the ‘arena’ and did a little walking there. As we added some trot in, he started to get rushy and high headed every time we faced the gate or his paddock, or he heard Nero screaming for him.

I really didn’t like that.

I pulled him up and brought him into a one rein stop on one occasion, just to remind him that he needs to listen and ‘give’. Separation anxiety was never really a problem before I stopped riding, but after 18 months of 24/7 with Nero and little to no contact with me changed the way he handles the separation.

I decided to get off an walk him down the road away from Nero.

In the back of my mind I was recalling the last time I did this in an effort to bring him back into work and he went completely spastic with separation anxiety and it was almost dangerous trying to manage him and bring him home.

But today — cool as a cucumber.

Out and about

In fact, I think he was kind of happy to get out.

He got to meet two new horses and a pony and stare down a chicken that had wandered out of its pen into the bush.

He behaved impeccably.

I probably could have gotten on and gone for a nice ride.

But this is more about me and not about him. He might have been ready, but I wasn’t.

I will ride tomorrow, too, but I’m not sure if I am going to ride out yet. I will have to see how I feel when I get on him. Bumped into a friend riding her horse past my place today and we might ride together tomorrow, but I hope she’s prepared for a slow and short ride if I do get out.

It’s such a far cry from our regular out and about all by ourselves Blackwood training rides, but it’s a good safe start, that I feel comfortable with.

Also on tomorrow’s agenda: a 5km run.

You remember that 10km race, that was downgraded from the half marathon, that is only 8 days away?

Yeah. Not gonna happen.

*shame*

(Juneathon practice run tally: 4 days in a row)

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

