Mental Health Run

I didn’t run on Sunday or Monday.

List of excuses unnecessary. It just didn’t happen.

By tonight, I was feeling despondent.

I was feeling tired, sick, heavy and bloated. I felt so icky, and I could honestly say I was feeling sad.

Depressed. Grumpy. Irritable.

In a big ugly funk.

Blah.

So, after work, I hopped onto a treadmill and I just walked until I felt ready to jog.

I jogged until I felt ready to run.

I ran until I felt better.

I didn’t really keep track. I didn’t push or try. I just settled into a rhythm and just cruised until I felt done.

In the end I did run about 3km, and I think I ran for about 20-25 minutes. But I didn’t keep track.

That wasn’t the point.

The point was that I needed to move my body. I needed to relieve the tension, relax my body by moving it, by tuning out the mind and switching on the chemical release I have been missing for a week.

I am sure you have heard of all the mental health benefits of exercise, but have you ever really experienced it for yourself?

I’m so glad it works! And it I feel so much happier now that I want to get up early and exercise first thing in the morning too!

I’m not saying I will, but the enthusiasm is there! 😉

I’m felling back to normal now. Back to focusing on eating well, exercising, and taking care of my mental health 🙂

Does exercise make you happy!? 🙂

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

