Making the Most of a Day Off

Today is ANZAC Day. It’s the Aussie/Kiwi equivalent to Remembrance Day, and it is also a delightful public holiday.

On a Wednesday.

NICE!

Perhaps I’m not the most patriotic Can-Aussie out there, but I certainly am grateful for the day!

Here are a few of the steps I took to ensure I got the very most out of this lovely and unexpected mid-week break:

  1. Ignore the 6:30am alarm that reminds me to get up and run. Sleep in until I am usually heading out the door for work.
  2. Make a ridiculously large and yummy breakfast, and eat it at a leisurely pace. I made apple and cinnamon stuffed French toast with honey and crème fraiche on top. And because I wasn’t scoffing, I stopped eating when I was full. Bonus!
  3. Leave the breakfast dishes sitting in the sink for ages. Do them when you feel like it.
  4. Stay in your pjs and robe as long as you want.
  5. Make a list of all the things you could or should do and then only do the things you want to do at the pace you want to do them at.
  6. Read. I have been very slowly reading a book, and today I got to sit down and enjoy more than a quick chapter before bed. (I’m currently reading Bear Grylls Mud, Sweat and Tears. I’m only on chapter 12, and he’s really only just introducing us to his family and his childhood, but I find it surprisingly well written. For a guy who eats bugs.)
  7. Remember that today is a gift. A rest. A sanctioned work break. A day to remember and reflect. A day to get out of whatever you wish to put in. Make it a special day!

Take a break!

I hope you have a delightful day, whether you get a holiday or not. Please make the most of whatever today brings! 🙂

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

