The Four Agreements

Saw this for the first time on facebook last night and totally loved it:

The Four Agreements

1. Be Impeccable With Your Words: Speak with integrity. Say only what you mean. Avoid gossiping about others. Use the power of your word in the direction of truth and love.

2. Don’t Take Anything Personally: Nothing others do is because of you. What others say and do is a projection of their own reality, their own dream.

3. Don’t Make Assumptions: Communicate as clearly as you can to avoid misunderstandings, sadness, and drama. With just this one agreement, you can completely transform your life.

4. Always Do Your Best: Your best is going to change from moment to moment; it will be different when you are healthy as opposed to sick. Simply do your best and you will avoid self judgement, self abuse, and regret.

by Don Miguel Ruiz

These ideas are simple to understand, though I imagine not easy to live. Although there are only four main points, there are clearly layers when it comes to exercising each of those agreements.

Does anyone else feel a challenge coming on?!

Points 1 and 3 stand out as weak spots in my mind. I do need to be more thoughtful in what I say and how I say it, and communicating clearly – without assumptions – and avoiding misunderstandings is something I would love to do better.

So, starting tomorrow I am going to start my day with the intention of being impeccable with my words:

I will speak clearly and honestly and thoughtfully.

Have any of you heard of the book before? Read it? Thoughts?

Which of The Four Agreements do you think would make the most positive change in your life?

One response to “The Four Agreements

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

