Time Testing

I’ve been running a little time experiment at work the last few days.

I’ve been setting a timer for 1 hour, and when the alarm beeps, it’s a reminder for me to get up from my desk and ‘go look around.’

It’s been interesting, because I’ve learned that:

  1. I am often up from my desk, and routinely moving around the facility within that hour, usually every 30 minutes or so, give-or-take, for a wide variety of reasons.
  2. Sometimes, however, that hour just whizzes by and I am surprised by the alarm going off. I am often quite grateful for the break. Getting up to stretch your legs and neck and shoulders every hour is a good thing when you’re hunched over your desk.

It’s been a fun little experiment, really, and made me much more time-aware. Sometimes I am away from my desk for the better part of that whole hour. That makes me feel like I’m not getting as much done as I should, but also clarifies for me why I am sometimes behind on the paperwork – because I’m serving customers, teaching classes, dealing with staff, or organising ‘stuff’ away from my desk.

But when I am bogged down at my desk, that hour reminder is great. Just getting off my butt is important, but it’s been nice, too, to just get up and go see what everyone else is up to. Often, this has led to some much needed ‘team time’ and re-direction of efforts.

It would be interesting, if it weren’t so difficult to manage, to track time spent at my desk and away from it in a day. That would probably result in some interesting findings.

Hmm… I spend a lot of time in the kiosk making cups of tea, I fear!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

(Nah, not really… hehe)

We all have different kinds of jobs and lives and needs, and it’s important to find a balance in all aspects of our lives. For me, it’s important to be moving throughout my day to firstly just stay active, and secondly to stay in contact with what’s happening outside my office door – with staff, customers and functions. I think this hour timer has shown me that I am already pretty close to achieving that, but that there is still a little more that can be done.

If you have a desk job, how do you keep active? Do you remind yourself to get away from your desk from time-to-time? Or do you have a job where you just wish you could sit down for a few minutes? ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

