Falling off the wagon

I wish I could come up with a more creative name to call this post. People who come up with good post titles have a real skill. Truly.

But anyway, on with my ramblings…

Yesterday I mentioned that I went for a run. And I blogged about it after I ran. And I was pretty darn proud of myself.

I also mentioned it was hot.

It was really hot, in fact.

Oddly hot.

So hot that even after my run and having another 15 minute chat with my co-worker, and then heading over to pick MD up from T&Es and having a good 20 minute chat with T, and then heading home and eating (it was lunchtime and I had only had a piece of toast about 4 hours earlier), my clothes were still soaking wet. Top to bottom my clothes had to be peeled off like a wet bathing suit!

I kid you not, I was still that sweaty a good hour after finishing my run!

After cleaning up, I wrote that post, pleased as punch with myself, and then I just fell off the wellness wagon.

Curse you, Food!

Before I went to run I ate a slice of German Seed bread and a cup of tea, and when I got back for lunch I had a small bowl of tuna pasta and a fruit smoothie with a tiny bit of ice cream in it (plus 2 pears, 1 peach, 1 banana). It was so yum!

image

I made horse feeds, did laundry and dishes…

And then something happened.

I started to feel bored, tired, listless, and agitated. Really agitated.

But the heat was oppressive, and doing stuff was just difficult. I mean, it was 30 in the house and it felt cool compared to outside…

And I started to feel hungry, even though I knew I wasn’t really hungry, but I felt insatiable!

Could it be that it was so hot and that I had sweated so much that my body was missing out on nutrients? What was my body looking for? I had crazy cravings!

Between lying on the floor under the fan and chugging ice cold water, I also had:

  • a cool chai tea
  • 4 scotch finger biscuits
  • a piece of toast with spag sauce and cheese (poor man’s pizza)
  • a piece of bread with peanut butter and jam
  • a piece of bread with butter and honey
  • 1-1/2 serves of tuna pasta
  • a piece of bread with mustard and cheese
  • a chocolate chip museli bar

And all of this consumed between about 2:00-10:00pm.

All the while, I’m thinking to myself, “What the hell are you doing!?”

I felt bloated and gassy and quite icky by the end of the night. I just couldn’t get over how much crap I ate! I ate near to a half a loaf of bread. And we’re not talking shop-bought white bread that doesn’t stick – we’re talking a heavy dark brown full seed loaf that is a significant size (you have to turn the slice over in the toaster to toast the whole thing).

I know these things happen, and today I will get back on the wagon and take charge of my eating again.

And I have two strategies lined up in my head, should I feel ridiculously insatiable again:

  • I am going to try having a Berocca or similar vitamin/mineral replacement drink as my tactic for getting back on board.
  • I will distract myself with something active if it’s not too hot, or allow myself to nap, or grab a book to read.

I may have had a bad day, but I have learned from it and have new strategies in place!

What lessons have you learned the hard way lately?

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

