Shake Your Legwarmers!

Leg Warmers

I loved my legwarmers! I had a great collection of them back in the 80s

I used to dance.

Probably not all that well, mind you, but I did take dance lessons, I participated in recitals, and I got to wear some great (and some not so great) costumes.

Of course, this was back in the 80s.

Dancing was fun.

Then again, what wasn’t fun in the 80s? 🙂

But, as you may recall from my very brief foray into the world of Zumba, it seems I really can’t dance.

I am pretty sure I can keep a beat, I am pretty sure I don’t look like a total tool when I, on rare occasions, foray into the world of clubbing or attend a wedding, and yet, put a bit of choreography in front of me and I’m a flailing monkey.

It’s a shame, really, because I love to move to music.

So, what makes me bring all this up?

My cousin Amy’s Christmas present: Wii Dance Party 3.

Far out that is a HOOT!

Now, there is video from this evening to prove that I still can’t dance (may it never see the light of day), but man, I can’t recall the last time I had that much fun!

I danced with my cousin, who seriously kicked my butt on every track except for the two 80s songs.

Of course, even my uncle beat her on ‘Jump For My Love.’

Pointer Sisters forever!!

So, maybe it’s not so much that I can’t dance, but that I can’t dance to anything recorded after 1989?

LOL

If you haven’t tried this game, I highly recommend it. Have a party, invite some people over. Get silly. Get sweaty. It really is a fun workout. And if I could get my feet and hands to work together, I would even guess that it could be a great cardio workout too!

Keri, if you’re still reading my random babblings, you and I have *GOT* to do this next time I am in Canada or you are in Oz as a homage to Barb!

*** JAZZ HANDS ***

Do you like to dance? Have you tried this new-fangled Wii business out?

2 responses to “Shake Your Legwarmers!

  1. Ha! Have it and love it (the girls especially). Next time we meet up we must have a dance-off!

    I am still reading your musings……I have you set up in Reader. Congratulations on your personal training endeavors. It sounds like you are working hard and reaping the benefits of it.

    Your Canadian queen of 80s dance,
    Keri

    • Haha I can’t wait for the dance off! What’s sad is that I bet your girls will totally kick my butt! So glad you’re still reading. When will you be starting your blog? I can’t wait to read your awesome stories!

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

