Putting it into Practice

This weekend was great!

Friday was pretty productive, but still pretty relaxed, organising my first guinea pig client, doing our initial assessment together and made an appointment for 6:30am Monday morning. I also got my laundry done, and cleaned up the caravan, and did heaps of homework.

Then, Mat came and got me Friday evening and we toured along the coast on the way up to his sisters place.

It is a rule, no matter what, if we get to the coast, we must at the very least see the ocean, even if we don’t have time to stop and go in.

It’s a good rule.

So Friday night I snapped shots of Cottosloe beach as we zipped by, windows rolled down, breathing in the salty air.

A quiet evening with Shanti and Ant allowed us (particularly Mat, who has been working his butt off all week) to unwind and we all hit the hay by 10pm.

Old nannas, the lot of us! πŸ™‚

Shanti had a breakfast date Saturday morning and Ant was fishing, so Mat and I had a relaxed start to the morning and headed off to do a little Christmas shopping. We met up with Shanti around lunch, and headed back to her place and that’s when we got to enjoy the beach.

I can’t remember the last time I saw Mat enjoy himself so much! He was body-surfing these itty-bitty waves, getting a ride a whole 2 meters before landing on the beach. It was so much fun! And I cannot believe how warm the water was! It was ideal, and we were there for hours! Shanti and I spent most of the afternoon just floating and laughing. It was so nice.

It only made me wish I lived on the coast even more! To be able to walk 5 minutes down the road and end up in a beautiful salty bath…Heaven!!

But I digress!

Ant came home with an awesome catch, and we had barbequed snapper, rice, chips and salad for tea. Divine!! So so good! Fresh fish is just so perfect, makes me never want to eat frozen again! And knowing that it was caught and cleaned that very morning is all the better.

And Shanti did my makeup while the boys watched some movie. That was so fun and girlie. Should have taken a picture, you wouldn’t have recognised me! πŸ™‚

Have you ever had a facial or your makeup done? I swear, it’s as nice as a massage or getting your hair done! So relaxing! The joke there is that she now expects me to do my makeup more often, which, when I see how nice it looks, does encourage me to do myself up a bit more, but I always lose interest and stop … This is something I chose to do (go without makeup) some time ago (refer to post about Beauty Rituals here), but maybe it’s time again to reconsider using just a little colour?

This morning, while everyone else slept in, I got up and did some homework (that big assignment is going to be the death of me!) and I got back at my pushups. I did 17, 19, 15, 15, 25. I was delighted that they felt so easy. Granted, it’s not a lot of pushups, only 91, but last week I was feeling so stiff and sore that doing that many seemed out of the question. I am feeling so great again, I am loving it!

Bring on Jacob’s Ladder, I say! πŸ™‚

Shanti agreed to be my second personal training guinea pig, so this morning I did her initial consultation and created two home workout programs she can do, and took her through all the exercises involved. She was such a willing candidate!

Quite different from my first guinea pig, Shanti is a relative newbie to exercise; she’s done lots of sport as a kid, but hasn’t done a lot since getting into working full-time. It feels good to put into practice what I’ve been learning and give her the support and encouragement she needs to meet her goals. I feel like she is a real client – not just a practice client – someone I can really follow up with and see the progress over time. She is going to do awesome! We are also meeting at 5pm Tuesday night for a second session, that will be quite different from her home workouts. Lots of challenges and variety. I hope she’ll like it!

Mat dropped me back off at my little caravan hide-away early this evening and headed back to Katanning. It was such a fun and relaxing weekend, I wish it didn’t have to end!

But now it’s time to settle back in, prepare for tomorrow morning and hope I can put into practice all that I’ve learned to coach an advanced level client who gets lots of regular PT sessions. It’ll be good to be measured against an experienced standard to see where I can make improvements.

Of course, I’ll be sure to let you know how it all goes! πŸ™‚

So, all of this has brought up so many questions – I am curious what you think…

  • What about the makeup business? How do you feel about makeup and the whole ‘image’ thing? Do you think makeup alters your judgment or perception of people?
  • Have you ever had personal training sessions? What was the best thing about them? The worst? What is the most important characteristic of a personal trainer for you?
  • And how do I get my butt to the ocean more often!?
I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

