And then suddenly

I was going along minding my own business, and then suddenly it’s only a week until I start my Cert IV (Personal Trainers) course!

More pressing than the looming Christmas deadline is Saturday the 10th of December, when I’ll be saying goodbye to my safe and predictable routine and I am thrust into something new and unfamiliar.

I haven’t been in a classroom in a long time. I’ve done training and stuff, sure, but this is three weeks away from Mat, in a classroom. It feels really odd and different. Like I’m getting too old for this?

No, I know I’m not getting to old for this, and it’s just because I don’t really know what to expect and there’s all the trepidation of having to work out the public transit in Perth. And of course the fear that I won’t be able to keep up – despite all assurances that there are all ages, types, sizes and fitness levels in these courses. Likewise, it’ll really suck to spend that much time away from Mat. I guess we can hope that the old adage “absence makes the heart grow fonder” is true. 🙂

I know intellectually that I’ll do fine and I am so glad to be doing it because getting my Cert IV has been ‘on my list’ for ages, and really plays into where I want to go in the future. And I am sure that once I know where to go, what bus to catch and what to wear, I’ll settle right in. So, I guess there’s more excitement than fear, which is a good thing! But it’s never easy to step outside your comfort zone.

So, now I have to make doubly sure that I have prepared everything for me to be away to put the least amount of pressure on Kobie and the staff. Something will always get forgotten, but I have full faith in Kobie and the team to work their magic and not even notice I’m gone.

In other news, Monday has been a three hour workout day!

It started with a leg workout (LiveFit day 18) and a Max Effort on Pushups – I only got to 31! A little disappointing. I don’t think 100 consecutive pushups is on the cards for two weeks from now. Especially with everything else that I will be doing on the course.

Anyway, Aqua Gold was on this afternoon and I had an awesome 9 participants including three newbies! The class has been slow to develop a following this year due to uncooperative weather, and this was one of the best classes I’ve had yet.

And finally, the day is ending with Body Balance.

Perfect!

When was the last time you had to step out of your comfort zone, as I am, and face the fear of doing something unfamiliar? What tools did you use to stay calm and get on with it?

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

