Challenges Recap

So I have been at a few of my challenges for awhile now, and I just wanted to update you on how I’ve been going.

A Week Without Wheels

Totally impossible. Can’t be done. Epic Fail.

My sister set this challenge and pushed me with the comment “I bet you can’t do it!” “Of course I can,” said me!

Fact is, I just can’t. It just isn’t practical to do it every day. The distance isn’t the factor, time and logistics are.

Here’s how I fared at this challenge:

  • Thursday 3rd – walk (1)
  • Friday 4th – walk (2)
  • Saturday 5th – biked to and from work (3)
  • Sunday 6th – biked to and from pool, took the long way home (4)
  • Monday 7th – drive, rain, errands, Aqua, Balance – so many splits
  • Tuesday 8th – drive, I think
  • Wednesday 9th – walked to and from work, but drove to and from Balance because Mat was working late and could not pick me up (5?)
  • Thursday 10th – walk (6)
  • Friday 11th – drive, Aqua
  • Saturday 12th – big walk with Ella (6-8km), but I admit I drove to the meeting (7?)
  • Sunday 13th – rode bike to and from pool, then ended up in car doing errands (8?)
  • Monday 14th – drive, rain, plus Aqua (in the rain I might add), plus extra shifts due to sick staff
  • Tuesday 15th- drove, I was doing splits due to sick staff, plus errands
  • Wednesday 16th – walk (9)

And that’s about when I decided to give up trying to get seven consecutive days of walking.

I like walking. I like that MD is getting a little fitter, and a little fast each time, but it’s just so impractical with the kind of work I do.

If I was a 9-5er, maybe.

If I had a dog fence and didn’t need to to walk MD to his sitters, maybe.

If MD could keep up with me on the bike, so I had it for zipping around town, maybe.

But at this point none of those things fit.

So, I will walk when I can, and not feel guilty about it when I can’t.

Budget Battles

This is still tough, but manageable. I’m still going over budget. I have a whole post in mind about this, but haven’t put it together yet, so won’t share details here, but hopefully will tell you how things are going next week – especially with Christmas coming!

100 Push Ups

I am so proud of myself for getting as far as I have with this challenge already!

Week 2 is very HARD and I may have to repeat it, but I’ve gotten up to 71 non-consecutive ‘full’ push ups. No knee push ups for me! This means that there is quite a lot of grunting and groaning to get the last push ups finished! But I have still managed to finish each set!

Yay Me! šŸ™‚

Unfortunately, Mat has stopped pushing up. šŸ˜¦

Smile

I think I forgot about this one earlier this week, as I was feeling quite stressed out. But reminding myself to smile has made me feel so much better.

This is such a simple exercise that I am sure it sounds silly. But really, I can feel it making an impact in my life. Little things have changed as a result – I am looking people in the eye more. I am stopping to hear people’s story more often.

I feel better when I smile, and it seems strange that I need to remind myself to do it and be conscious of the fact that I don’t do it enough.

Monday, I will share a new challenge with you! I am quite looking forward to it! šŸ™‚

Are you working on any challenges? I’d love to hear what you’re trying out! šŸ™‚

3 responses to “Challenges Recap

  1. I love these challenges. I’m going to start the 100 push-ups challenge tomorrow and I was thinking of doing the 100 days of real food challenge you posted about before. The food challenge will be most difficult I think. I’m so lazy when I’m making a meal just for me- I don’t see the point in making lots of effort and taking lots of time when nobody else is there to appreciate it. Now that I write that it sounds a bit sad but I spend term-time at uni and holidays with my boyfriend so I always eat well with him! Maybe I will give it a go while I’m at uni. Thanks for the post anyway, good luck with your challenges šŸ™‚

    • Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!
      I will most certainly be following your challenge efforts! Especially 100 days of real food! Wow, what a biggie! šŸ™‚ I haven’t been game enough yet to try that one. I also find preparing meals a bit tricky and I’m constantly on-again-off-again with healthy eating.
      One day I’ll get there!
      Thanks again for stopping by!

  2. Pingback: 50 Things I’m Putting Off « Chasing the Blackwood Marathon·

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

