Work Missions

Thanks to Seth’s Blog, and my last post on having a plan, I got to thinking about missions.

Mission Statements.

Mission Impossible.

Mission seems to be much more … powerful, on purpose, guiding, direct.

Hey, I mean, goals are good too! But according to dictionary.com, a mission is:

mis·sion   [mish-uhn] 
noun Also called foreign mission(for defs. 3, 6).
1. a group or committee of persons sent to a foreign country to conduct negotiations, establish relations, provide scientific and technical assistance, or the like.
2. the business with which such a group is charged.
3. a permanent diplomatic establishment abroad; embassy; legation.
4. Military. an operational task, usually assigned by a higher headquarters: a mission to bomb the bridge.

It seems that even in the non-Christian-sense of the word, mission reflects a sense of “higher purpose” or larger aims and overall goals of a body or group.

Although I am sure it is all just a matter of semantics, I have decided to set up a few missions (rather than goals) for myself at work. You know of one of them already, which is why I am purposefully trying to smile more.

Here are my missions for my workplace:

  1. Create a positive, welcoming and friendly working environment
  2. Provide more training and support for new staff
  3. Create greater opportunities for ‘team time’
  4. Acknowledge the need for growth and advancement
  5. Promote and publicly acknowledge hard work and achievements of staff within the group and the greater community
  6. Develop an environment of trust and support, lending itself to long-term employment
  7. Discourage complaining, name calling and ‘drama’ and encourage helpfulness, problem solving, and positive thinking
  8. Have clear and open lines of communication
  9. Celebrate more!

Yeah, I know. Lofty, right?

But it sure can’t hurt to try! 🙂

 

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

