Dropping Like Flies

Today I accomplished something pretty significant:

I did the rosters up to the 4th of January!

I will be away doing my Cert IV in Fitness course in December (I will be a personal trainer at the end of it) and wanted to get as much of the holiday schedule blocked out as possible, as well as have staff prepared for events coming up. There’s still work to be done and organising to do, but it was a big step forward in getting ready for the “Silly Season.”

But all this planning isn’t going to do much good if the staff keep getting sick! Seriously, they are dropping like flies these days!

No, don't get sick 😦

Corry went down first, with pneumonia, and Kristie not far behind her with bronchitis. Kobie is feeling the signs of coming down with something. Everyone’s feeling a little ragged.

Why is it that when one goes down, everyone seems to follow? 😦

We have a work environment where ‘bums on seats’ is important. We need to have at least one staff present from 6:00am to 8:30pm or later M-F and varied hours on weekends as well. So it’s not like some places where a person’s work just piles up waiting for them to get back, we need to have someone there. It’s made it a bit hard to keep the place staffed, and we have had to be creative and flexible with our rosters for the last few days, and the next few to come, I suppose!

I know it’s the time of year, and that, unfortunately, by putting more pressure on the staff that are still healthy to keep going and fill shifts, we put all of us at risk of getting worn down. But I don’t think there’s much that can be done.

So we will plug away at it and hopefully get through the holiday season unscathed!

Bring on the holidays, I say! We all need a break! πŸ™‚

4 responses to “Dropping Like Flies

  1. Oh man, when sickness comes in and takes down the staff that is tough. You know that I take daily a product called Emergen -C everyday faithfully, and even working with preschoolers (where even a plastic bubble couldn’t keep the germs away) I have literally not had more than the sniffles in three years. It may be something your staff use! It is just a little packet that you mix with a bit of water, lots of yummy flavors! Hope everyone gets well soon!

    • Sounds like a good product to look into! Especially since my workers work with kids, have kids, and handle all sorts of ‘yucky’ things all day.
      I have been trying to find an eccinacia tea here for ages, but have had no luck, so maybe a product like that will show up here!
      Thanks for the tip! πŸ™‚

      • Just wanted to let you know that one of the formulas they offer has echinacia along with vitamin C and all the B’s etc. You may be able to find them on Amazon.com to order if you are interested or some of the vitamin wholesalers. It really is a good product and if you knew me well you would know I am not much of an endorser of things, but this one does the trick! πŸ™‚

      • Yes, a quick look through our chemist doesn’t turn up anything quite that complete. I might just have to look at getting some online. Add it to the list πŸ™‚

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

