There’s nothing wrong with having a plan

There’s nothing wrong with having a plan

Plans are great.

But missions are better. Missions survive when plans fail, and plans almost always fail.

via Seth’s Blog: There’s nothing wrong with having a plan.

How true it is…

Last week things started going wrong. And it just seemed to cascade from one small crisis to another. There was no avalanche, no major problem, just these minor compounding issues.

Maybe I was just being overly sensitive to it all, but I was getting so frustrated because nothing seemed to be going to plan at all!

(Luckily, I have great staff who have the self-imposed mission to do the best job they can, no matter what.)

What we have here is a failure to communicate.

Truly, that’s what happened all week. We thought we had thought of everything. We thought we asked all the right questions. We thought our needs and point of view were understood.

But they weren’t.

Now, this just a case of the proverbial straw that broke the camels back, really, but it was so hard to keep my composure all week, when I felt so helpless!

And it all comes down to good communication skills. Something I thought I was okay at, but these days…

  • we don’t seem to have time to finish a conversation, so we are skimming details all the time, or trying to pick up where we left off. How many times a day do I say, “Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you …”? or “That’s right, I meant to do that earlier, but got distracted…”? All too often!
  • we are making assumptions on all sides
  • we mutter and ‘just do it anyway’ to avoid the conversation or confrontation, even if it’s not right.

I would love, just once this week, to have a conversation that doesn’t get interrupted. Where we sit down and go over the details of whatever project needs our attention and we actually get it all done in one sitting. I bet it wouldn’t take half as long to do it that way compared to how we do it now. And I bet we’d have less plans fail!

Luckily, we have backup plans and creative thinkers, but wouldn’t it be nicer if everything went smoothly more often than not?

How do we do that?

One response to “There’s nothing wrong with having a plan

  1. Pingback: Work Missions « Chasing the Blackwood Marathon·

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

