Real Thanks

Okay, since I went long on the “Thanks and Giving” post, I thought I’d put a little list together of the other things I am thankful for. Afterall, it is Thanksgiving!

I am thankful for:

  • Mat. A loving and supportive partner in life.
  • My home. Complain as I might, it is ours and I never thought I’d own a home that supports animals and horses and lets me live my dreams.
  • Australia. This country and the people within it have been so good to me. And now I’m a permanent resident. So glad that is finally done and I’m allowed to stay!
  • My life, health and fitness. Really, to live without disability or dysfunction is an under-rated part of life. I take for granted all of these things too often.
  • My friends and family. Without their support and love, even with the little every day things, life would be difficult and lonely. I am so glad they are there, even if they are thousands of kilometres away, I know I have their support and love. What a great thing.
  • My job. It’s offered me freedom, flexibility, and opportunities. I have grown in this position. It’s fed me and paid my way to Canada a few times. It’s been good to be stretched and challenged, and supported as well. Plus it has provided financial stability and the ability to afford to give to charities and help others and still live comfortably.
  • Finally, I am thankful that things turned out for me the way they did.

Some time ago, I spoke to a friend, who was a close and dear friend that I grew up with (we were thick as thieves, you could say). We went our separate ways, as you do when you are young, and when we met again many years later.

After our visit, I could only think, “There but for the grace of God go I.”

Her story played out very differently from mine. She has beautiful children, but has had a hard life. And a few twists on my path could have led me down that hard way. She is beautiful, but shattered in many ways.

I also realised that I was spoiled, softened and dulled by my life and that I took my situation for granted far too much. All of the things above could be lost. It is important that I remember that not just on Thanksgiving, but daily.

This was a “Lesson Learned” moment I hope I never forget.

Happy Canadian Thanksgiving!

What are you giving thanks for today?

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

