I Had to Laugh

So I promised myself I would get up early and do some exercise based on my new schedule. Thursday mornings have been allocated to Body Step, but since early morning Step doesn’t start until mid-October, I decided I would do the Zumba DVD my friend lent me. I thought I would start with the beginner DVD and do the 20 minute express workout.

I did pretty good on track one, if I do say so myself, but I was so grateful that I didn’t have a camera, audience or friend around for the next four tracks. My little bubble of confidence was busted very quickly into track two… and it didn’t really get much better.

Yeah, it was bad!

I could NOT make my feet go that fast. I could not get my legs and arms and hips and knees to do that together in time and in rhythm and not look like I was having a seizure of some sort.

I was heavy and flat-footed, slow and off time.

I could blame the fact that I groggily dragged my body out of a very nice sleep at 6:15am and went from ‘full rest’ mode into ‘full activity’ mode. Maybe my brain and body just weren’t processing what I needed to do yet.

Maybe.

More likely I just have no idea how to do the Salsa, Hip Hop or Reggae Time moves, and I just have a bit more to learn. I likely just need to keep practicing.

But I am sure all the little flies on the wall were laughing their poor heads off at my attempts.

However, in those 20 minutes, as un-co as they were, I did get my heart rate up and did feel like this could definitely be a challenging and fun workout. Maybe after a few more goes of this express workout I’ll be ready to move on to the Cardio Dance Party! 🙂

Have you ever tried Zumba DVDs or classes? What did you think? Did you feel comfortable with the moves straight away, or did you struggle at first? Did you stick with it?

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

