Changes are Afoot

Things are happening at work.

Things always happen, change always happens, but right now… wow!

Try stemming the flow of change we’re facing right now.

Near to impossible.

Try predicting where these changes will lead us.

Completely impossible.

And as one of the pieces of the puzzle, my role is confused and from my perspective it seems that my choices are fairly limited:

  • Wait for the fallout to clear, decide later, see what happens.
  • Stay, make the best of it, see what happens.
  • Let go, do something different, see what happens.

Of course, without a crystal ball, it’s really hard to know what to do.

There are pros and cons to each option: steady paychecks, uncertain futures, stress, income, freedom, change, empowerment, opportunity, decisions, stress, opportunity for success, for failure…

The one thing I really have to do is become more active in this process. I have been watching it all happen, waiting for the decisions to be made. But I don’t think I can wait any longer for my fate to be decided.

I recently made a few decisions of my own. I laid out a plan for the next 18 months based on certain expectations. I believe I know what I want to do. But in light of further changes, I have been feeling more and more like a rat on a sinking ship, and much less like the captain.

I don’t know if I have the right stuff to steer this ship, but I am pretty damn sure I don’t want to go down with it.

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

