Awesome Treadmill Workout!

After skipping out on Step for the second week in a row (shame), I was determined to work my butt off today!

Now, I have to say, I was completely exhausted yesterday. I felt like I had run a marathon. I was so pooped! But after one of the best sleeps I’ve had in weeks, I woke up at 7am ready to go!

After breakfast, tea, feeding animals, blogging, washing a few loads of laundry and a few sink-fulls of dishes, the weather had turned really nice and definitely motivated me to get out and run my 5k loop. And it had been predicted rumoured to be a nicer day, so was really looking forward to an outdoor run.

Unfortunately, by the time I got changed into my running gear, the weather had changed and it was turning miserable again. I hadn’t quite made it to the end of the block when the wind picked up and the rain started to fall. You know how I hate running in the wet, but, undeterred, I headed to the gym for a treadmill run.

As you may also know, I’d like to run faster, and 12kph is my goal speed. I run between 9.5 and 10 in my comfort zone, and need to push to get past that. So I decided to run progressively faster each minute of my workout.

I started with a long warmup – a full 5 minutes – and then went to 9.5 for 1 minute. Each minute I increased the speed by .5 till I ran at 12kph for 1 minute, then back down by .5 to 9.5. I did three full climbs up and then on the last round I went down by full 1 kph. So it looked like this:

  • 5 (warmup)
  • 8 (warmup)
  • 9.5
  • 10
  • 10.5
  • 11
  • 11.5
  • 12
  • 11.5
  • 11
  • 10.5
  • 10
  • 9.5
  • repeat, repeat
  • 12
  • 11
  • 10
  • 9 (cooldown)
  • 5 (cooldown)

This was awesome, because when I was coming back down from 12, (which, though doable, was definitely out of my comfort zone (“It’s only ONE minute. Keep going!”)), when I hit 10.5, that speed felt just perfect. I might lose the 9.5 the next time I do a progressive pyramid run and focus on staying above 10kph!

After I was done I did a little mini-circuit of incline rows, lunges, tricep pushups and crunches, which I went through twice and finished with a big long stretch. Ah!

A great workout! I did 6km in 37:41, including warmup and cool down, and I know I really challenged myself. The third time through at 12kph was a real test of my mettle, I was so tempted to press decrease the speed before the last minute was up. I was breathing hard, and if I had a heart rate monitor on, I feel certain I would have been working in my max zone!

I love that I had the time to pop in a few body weight exercises to complete the workout. My upper body strength has gone down the klacker so this was a great add-on that didn’t take too long!

That was the best workout I’ve had in awhile. It felt good to get past my comfort zone, challenge myself, and not skimp out or chicken out on the challenge!

What was the last best workout you’ve had, and what made it great!

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

