Paying Attention

I’ve noticed that I’m not paying attention.

I’m so wound up right now with so many little things and thoughts and worries that I’m not paying enough attention to anything.

I’m not reading anything all the way through – this, from a person whose top pet peeve is “No one ever reads anything!” – and so I ask questions already answered in emails, or I make remarks that sound uneducated because I missed a detail.

I forget to write a booking down and schedule staff on for it and spend hours trying to chase up staff at the last-minute.

I drive carelessly because my mind is elsewhere and I am distracted and not paying enough attention to the road. I am embarrassed to say I narrowly avoided causing a car accident a few days ago.

I work an extra 4 hours because I forgot to do something that would have taken very little time if organised when I had scheduled myself to organise it, but… I got distracted.

As you might imagine, it’s exhausting!

I believe that if I slowed down and paid attention, my stress would drop and my ability to focus would increase, because I wouldn’t constantly be correcting myself or mistakes I’ve made. The time I would have spent fixing boo-boos could be spent taking a little extra time in getting it right the first time.

So my challenge to myself this week is to take a deep breath, slow down, take a look at the details, and try to get it right the first time.

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

