Just Get a New One

I am really cheesed off at the universe today!

Okay, I’m not actually mad at the universe, it had nothing to do with this.

People, retail, marketing, labour exploitation, and ‘STUFF’ is to blame.

Yesterday, my camera stopped working properly. It’s about two years old, and it was purchased to replace a 5 year old camera.

My 5 year old camera was purchased as a pre-trip-to-Australia gift and survived many bumps and knocks and falls. And eventually had to be repaired. Luckily, I was in Melbourne at the time, got to go to a repair dealer type guy who made sure it was ‘under warranty’ wink-wink nudge-nudge and fixed it in about 5 minutes. What happened? The lense that pops out when you power on the camera came off the track and it wouldn’t come out.

Finally, four years later that camera just stopped working. It wouldn’t save, then eventually just wouldn’t turn on. Its time had come. I happily went in and bought a new one.

The new one didn’t work out of the box, it was exchanged and the new one worked just fine, thank you kindly, for about two years, until yesterday, when the lense stopped popping out. Guess what? The lense was off the track. A 5 minute fix, right?

Nope, it’s not under warranty, and we’re a three hour drive away from the fix-it shop, and they will charge $80 just to look at it and no guarantees, and blah-de-blah-de-blah… “Just get a new one.”

Grr!

Now it sits in the junk drawer, waiting for disposal
Poor dead camera awaiting its fate

So now I have a camera that *could* work in a drawer, and a brand new upgraded camera with more megapixles (What do I need them for? I never blow up my photos! I shrink them down!) But I digress.

Anyway, the new camera works, and it was “only $99” (I got a deal and saved $10) and hey, in the grand scheme of things, this isn’t going to hurt very much. But it annoyed the bejeeberz out of me!

Then, to make matters worse, I decided to try to follow up on replacement parts for our hair trimmer. (In hindsight, maybe today wasn’t the day to do this…) Mat has had this thing for years, and it works great, but the blades are dull, so now it kind of tugs the hair out of his head, rather than shave it. Though many years old, it seems a complete waste to replace the whole thing, since the 14 piece kit still has 12 pieces (the other two are actually floating around in the bottom of a drawer somewhere, I am positive!) and it looks like it has replaceable blades.

A google search gets me a “there are no spare parts listed for this item” result.

All the pieces still there, still working great!
Our prefectly good, but dull, hair clipper kit

A stop in to the hairdressers gets me a number to a hair clipper repair/sharpening service guy who said he only handles a single brand. Not my brand. Call up the hair dresser supply shops. Supply shops don’t handle this brand, it’s a retail item, and not an industrial one. No can do.

Return to google…. this whole kit is still available, and costs only $29.99…

Might as well just get a new one…

ARG!!

This is likely not the last I will complain about this. And, of course, by caving, and buying a new camera and not paying the $80 plus shipping and handling to hopefully get my camera repaired, I am also contributing to and sustaining this problem!

We have other things sitting here, waiting to be repaired, but probably never will be.

  • Our ride-on-mower is probably too old, and now has been sitting in the weather for just too long to be bothered with.
  • Our DVD player, which I have complained about A LOT is still sitting here, and I am not ready to give up on it just yet. I have a lense cleaning disk to run through it and we’ll see if that helps.
  • And our oven! I love my oven with the door that lifts up. But without even looking at it, the repair guy said “just get a new one.” They make them so hard to repair, and the parts so expensive and difficult to get ahold of that the repair guys don’t even want to bother. So we have a dead oven and there’s nothing we can do about it.

So, what’s a girl to do? Buy a new set of clippers and throw this one out? And be sure to buy a brand that can be repaired?

And when we buy the oven, maybe talk to the repair man and see if there’s a brand he likes and can get parts for easily?

Stop taking the easy path, and spend the $80 and get the damn camera repaired?

What would you do?

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

