I Needed That!

Thank goodness for tonight! Go Body Attack for getting me back in the swing of things!

I’ve done a fairly poor job of exercising this week. Monday I did Pump and Balance, and Wednesday I did Balance, but I really haven’t done anything else. No runs, no Step (I missed the launch, in fact! Bad!), no DVDs (and I even got my Tae Bo videos to do now!), and even pretty half-hearted training sessions.

In my defense, I wasn’t feeling great over the weekend – I wasn’t well at all. I’ll say “squishy guts” and leave the rest to your vivid imagination. I did Pump and Balance Monday, and by Tuesday I was running on empty. Tuesday night I went home instead of to Step and slept for about 12 hours. Wednesday I had a quiet day, did some Balance training (mostly in my head) and then went back to bed for a 2 hour nap before work. I was very very tired, and also fighting a head cold! I had plenty of reasons for taking it easy.

But I think there comes a point when things tip the scales, and tired becomes a habit, and not exercising becomes much easier than putting out the effort.

So today I had to decide: am I really tired and needing more rest, or do I need my butt into gear?

The answer came in the form of a great flow chart from Fitness & Spice. How great is this flow chart? πŸ™‚ I want to print it out and put it on my wall, and on my fridge, and on the window of the gym, and give a copy to everyone I know!

IΒ also got a good push from my friend and colleague K* (who is starting her own blog theshaeproject.wordpress.com, check it out!) and who just happens to instruct Attack on Thursday night. Hard to say no to her when she’s sitting right there and knows damn well you haven’t got an excuse not to go! πŸ™‚

So, I went to Attack, and it was hard, and I sweated, and laughed, and woohoo’ed, and made a bum of myself by totally getting the wrong legs and arms and directions. And it was great and I left on a high, and that was exactly what I needed: a reminder that even though doing nothing is easier, exercising is a heck of a lot more fun!!

Thanks K*! (I guess I’ll be able to start calling you by name now that you’re all public, eh? πŸ˜‰ )

How do you decide when it’s time to ‘get back in the saddle’ after a break?

One response to “I Needed That!

  1. I am feeling exactly this way, right at this moment! Everything seems like such an effort, I would much rather curl up in bed with my doona! But you and I both know what we really need to do!

    And yes, you can start using me name! Good post πŸ™‚

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

