A Good Day and A Recipe

I feel so productive, without feeling rushed or stressed! I listed off a good lot of jobs I wanted done before we leave for Canada (10 sleeps!!! But who’s counting? 🙂 ) and spread them out over the coming 10 days! 

As a result of this planning, I’ve had a nice relaxing weekend. I’ve read a book that I found really unique, watched a movie, I’ve done some baking for upcoming class wrap-ups, I’ve made the spare room a real spare room instead of a room where we store stuff and, oh, also, there’s a bed in there. In two days the spare room has been transformed into a spare room and the exercise room could now be relabled the ‘sports and hobbies room.’ Until we get the storage shed up, this is how it will have to remain. This should be effective use of our spare rooms for the time being. More changes are in the works, because eventually we will do some renovations.

Here in WA we have the good fortune of this being a long weekend, so tomorrow morning I am going to be going for a horse ride with M*! YAY! Just what I need!

Still more projects to get done, scrubbing the bathroom, mowing the front lawn (the horses already did a good job on the back lawn), and cleaning the hay shed, but these will all wait until after I have had a little equine-time!

Now, onto the food!

This weekend I made Date Squares. These are a long-time favourite treat, but haven’t made it before, I’ve always enjoyed Mom or Grandma’s. So mine was okay. The topping was a little more crumbly than usual. Maybe I didn’t use enough butter? Or maybe there was just too much topping? And the date filling was really too sweet. The recipe called for sugar, but I think dates are sweet enough, so won’t use sugar next time I make them.

I also made Apple, Sultana and Cinnamon Muffins. I like muffins, they’re easy and a nice portable treat. I haven’t even tested these ones yet. They’ll go to the pool next Monday for Aqua Gold wrapup and the ladies can tell me if they are any good or not. They look and smell great!

Mat and I watched a movie, The Losers, and it was just eh so-so. I mean, it was entertaining, and I’m not one to be too harsh on a movie, but I am pretty sure I watched this movie not too long ago, but it was called The A-Team then. 😉 And I made Nachos again, this time adding jalepenos to fire it up. They were good, but I think I’m Nacho’ed out. I’ll have to find another treat for our movie nights. Mat also agrees that it’s a good treat but too easy to over-eat, and then the next day you just feel so heavy and bloated. It’s true. New snack required!! Any suggestions? 🙂

Finally, today I tried a new recipe, Toffee Apple Bake. Normally, I’m a by-the-book baker, but I made a few changes along the way, and will make a few other changes in future batches. Here is the recipe (with my future modifications included). I chose to post this because it’s a pretty simple recipe, and really does take only 30 minutes to prepare, and I was quite proud of myself for making it ‘mine.’ It’s a little healthier, with less sugar than called for and wholemeal flour versus white. And I think we could further reduce the apple-sugar, too.

Toffee Apple Bake

(adapted from 30-minute vegetarian by Joanna Farrow)

Preheat oven to 425F/220C

Prepare apples:

  • pick as few as 3 or as many apples as will fill half your dish, cored and thickly sliced
  • 2/3 cup raw sugar (use less if you aren’t doing lots of apples)
  • 1 Tbsp wholemeal flour

Lightly grease a 9×9″ baking dish, wash, core and slice your apples right into your dish. Measure your sugar and add flour, stir together, then toss over apples, and make sure apples get well coated.

(Just a note, the recipe called for 125g/4 oz light muscovado sugar, but I didn’t know what it was and couldn’t find it. Raw seemed to work fine, and I bet that honey or maple syrup would also be nice if you wanted something more natural.)

Prepare topping:

  • 3/4 cup wholemeal flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup white or caster sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground mixed spice (or cinnamon, or whatever)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup natural yogurt
  • 50g/2 oz unsalted butter,, melted (this melted down to be about 1/3 cup)

Mix all together and stir lightly until just combined.

Spread topping over the apples and bake for 15-20 minutes until just firm and golden. Serve warm. Awesome with vanilla ice cream!

Easy! 🙂

I’m off to start scrubbing the bathroom, then Mat and I are going to watch another movie. And then we have to figure out something for supper.

Any suggestions for yummy movie snacks?

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

