Challenges

We have suddenly gotten so busy! 

Friday after work I had a great lesson with Chris and really learned a lot! Sadly I haven’t ridden since Friday to make sure it has all stuck. But as I said, we’ve been busy!

Mat and I went to visit his parents on the weekend. We left early Saturday morning after fixing the roof of the hay shed (one of the sheets had blown off in the wind a week earlier) and we had a nice, nearly technology free weekend. We showed Mum & Dad the www.storyofstuff.org page and they loved it, and they also showed Pop. Mum teaches Sustainability at the local primary school, so was very pleased to learn about this resource to create conversations with her kids.

Anyway, we came home Monday morning, and hit two detours which added a whole hour to our trip, so we got home in time to eat, change, and go to work. Sadly, I wasn’t paying close attention to what I was eating, and ate something that was a bit older than ideal (tuna, rice and veggie leftovers – tuna was out on Wednesday, and the rice combo was made on Thursday to use up the leftover tuna). But I was HUNGRY, and I didn’t have time to go shopping and we were REALLY running low on food and I didn’t think of it until I started to get stomach cramps after Aqua Gold. By 4:30 I was thinking “I need to go home. I never go home. I can’t teach Balance buckled over like this. What am I going to do?” So I called my boss, we got someone to come in, I did what I could to let my Balancers know that class would be cancelled, and went home and crashed hard for a few hours.

With that out of my system I had a good day at work on Tuesday, with heaps going on. I also went in to pay for our flights to Canada and the price had gone up a whopping $800! WHAT!? I might have been a little rude. I was so disappointed and shocked. I didn’t pay that. We have got to work something else out now. 

I have finally finshed the Body by Science book. It only took me months, and I got through the last portion with lots of skimming over stuff. I probably missed a lot of really interesting stuff – Omega 6 and Omega 3 balances for example. I think I’d like to re-read that section before giving the book back today. But I will review the book later.

This morning I’m up early so I could feed the horses prior to taking them to their dental appointment. That’s going to be an expensive exercise. And I haven’t loaded either of these horses for awhile, so it’ll be interesting to see how long it takes to get them on the float.

Anyway, I have been enjoying the Eat In Month Challenge and started thinking about different challenges that I have heard of or that I could do myself. For example:

  • Challenge a Day
  • Janathon/Juneathon (run (exercise) every day for the month)
  • Technology Sabbath (as mentioned in previous posts – unplug from technology for 12-24 hours)
  • 100 Situps/Pushups (I’ve seen a few variations of these, but the one I saw was to increase the pushup by one daily, while reducing the situps by one, for example. But there are plenty of variants, and web sites with programs, etc)
  • Veggie Challenge (Only cooking with home grown produce, or go veg for 1 month)
  • Gluten Free (go gluten free for a month … I think this is one I am going to try next)
  • Sugar Free (this might be too hard… but would be entirely worthwhile)
  • Reading Challenges (read a book a week, a book a month, or 30 minutes a day. Normally I read in fits and starts. I start to read because I must read and can do nothing else, and then don’t read for ages. 30 minutes a day would be quite an interesting change.)
  • Writing Challenges (post a day or themes or creative writing, there are a few different things I’ve seen. I have theme words that are written at the top of each page of my diary (daytimer) and these would make excellent topics for posts)
  • Meditation (spending 10-30 minutes daily reflecting – this would also be a good one to try soon)
  • Streak Challenges (how many consecutive days can you … then repeat and go for more)
  • There was a guy who did a whole lot of challenges and had some great suggestions. Here are a few of his ideas. I quite like the 30 days of 10,000 steps or 30 days riding bike to work (or walking, as that would be easier for me, my dog can’t keep up with the bike.) And also no TV for 30 days.

Do any of these challenges strike a cord with you? What would you like to do most?

Must run, time to load the horses!

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

