Feasting

Feasting.

Consuming, eating, devouring.

That’s pretty much what I’ve been doing for the past week.

Family is here, Christmas is here, and all the excuses, marketing, and baloney that go with it are here.

I weighed myself on Monday and then promptly hopped off the scales and thought, “No, I’m not going to weight myself until after the holiday season.” Certain shifts in my thinking have me re-evaluating.

Now, I don’t feel guilty about food. I’ve always claimed that guilt weighs more than what you’re eating, but at the same time, why am I eating more than I need?

In fact, why are we consuming, eating and devouring more than we need full stop? (Please refer to www.storyofstuff.org for further inspiration behind that comment, and more posts to follow.)

I enjoy baking and sharing meals with my friends and family. But do we really need to have ‘special’ meals and extra treats at every single opportunity in the month leading up to Christmas? I know so much visiting is done with food (and in some families with alcohol) but shouldn’t the food come second to the people? If the food is well prepared, healthy and tasty, people will enjoy it just as much as if it were well prepared, fattening, zinging with flavour and in over-abundant supply.

As far as Christmas rituals go, I like the idea of sticking to the one big meal. Christmas dinner, with all the trimmings, flavour, fat, sweets, and done! There can be plenty of other special occasions, but the food can be plain and simple and healthy, can’t it?

Watch for a change of plans for next year! I plan to make ahead plenty of healthy, low fat treats and snacks to bring along to parties, and lots of fruit treats and salads to enjoy. No guilt here, just a change of plan because I think I let food take first place too often this season, and I am paying for it!

How about you? Have you indulged or refrained? Have you had any guilt or felt a need to change tactics?

2 responses to “Feasting

  1. If you’re interested, I’ve gained 5.06 pounds, or 2.3 kilograms in 16 days. And it was actually higher a few days ago, when on Monday I decided to do my weigh-in and went “oh dear!” and quickly blocked the number from my mind. I have been a little more conscious of what I’ve chosen to eat in the last 24ish hours. It’s amazing what a difference it makes to just choose better each day, and still enjoy yummy food, but not go to town on it!
    … I have some serious food issues, don’t I? hehehe

  2. Pingback: The No New Gifts Holiday Challenge « Chasing the Blackwood Marathon·

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

