Workout #7 and measurements

E* and I are progressing quite well with our workouts. She did Workout #4 today (Advanced exercises for 15 minutes) and she is getting stronger all the time.

I did workout #7 this morning, and once I actually figured out what I was doing, I actually got quite a good workout in.

Workout 7 goes like this:
1 set = ex 1 for 20sec, ex 2 for 20 sec, ex 3 for 20 sec, ex 4 for 20 sec, 10 sec rest
1 cycle = 2 sets followed by a 1 minute rest
Complete 3 cycles
(Confused yet?)
– Problem #1: I started out trying to do the Expert exercises and the after the first cycle realised I was supposed to be doing all Basic moves… uh duh! That certainly helps!
– Problem #2: Keeping an eye on the time while performing exercises is hard. I eventually learned that looking at the second hand on the wall clock was far more effective than trying to glance at the wrist watch. Why didn’t I think of that sooner? Once I got that figured out, it was pretty smooth sailing. Prior to that I was spending upwards of 35 seconds on an exercise, or totally losing track of the time.

Cycles 2 and 3 were pretty good once I got the timing and could just focus on the exercises.
– I did lots of toe pushups, and probably could have done more.
– I still used the 11kg weight for the squats, because I just don’t feel like they’re working me hard enough without the weight.

Now that I’ve sorted out the little details, I am sure Friday’s workout will be much more effective. It is 3 cycles of the Advanced exercises. We aren’t working out on Wednesday, because E* is away. I know I could do it on my own, but I might just go for an early morning swim instead. I am nearly done the World’s Most Effective Workout series. Only 5 workouts to go. I am definintely feeling stronger, feeling much more capable of the incline rows and the pushups. I think I will start the 12 minute workouts after I am done with this and see how they go.

Oh, and I did my measurements, and they’re not flattering. My weight has remained relatively steady, 66.9 this morning. But my other measurements aren’t as nice. Now, granted, when I took my waist measurement this morning it was directly after breakfast, so that will probably be part of the enlargement there…

But it is more likely that these problems are diet and exercise related. Diet especially.

Last night, for example, we had a lovely turkey roast dinner with all the trimmings. We also ate a whole bunch of Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls (yummo) and some Maple Almond Pecan Scones (which I made to take to my Seniors Afternoon Tea which is on Tuesday, so we only had a few of the outside crumbling edges, but it all adds up, doesn’t it?), plus a bought Chicken Cheese and Mayo toastie on a beautiful sour dough roll for lunch, and fruit toast for breakfast.

And I have eaten similarly all week. I haven’t stopped eating for 10-12 hours of exercise a week, and I am only exercising maybe 5 hours, and not at a high intensity at all. I really don’t need all this extra food. Or I need to increase my exercise output again, which seems much easier for me.

I think I will start my half-marathon training now, rather than waiting until after Christmas.

How are you planning on dealing with the Holiday food overload?

I'd much rather know what you think... let me know :)

